NDTA Welcomes New Committee Chairs

Sep 20, 2023 | DTJ Online

The National Defense Transportation Association (NDTA) Board of Directors recently appointed two administrative and one functional new committee chairs.



Mr. Hunter McGuire was appointed NDTA Young Leaders Committee Chair. In this role, he oversees the NDTA Young Leaders Program which seeks to engage and invest in the next generation of transportation and logistics professionals. As a Lead Account Manager at Southwest Airlines, where he has worked for six years, Mr. McGuire’s primary focus is to enhance the experience of all Department of Defense travelers.



Dr. Nathan Busch, Distinguished Professor of Political Science at Christopher Newport University (CNU), was appointed Chair of the NDTA Education & Professional Development Committee. The committee oversees the development of educational programs for the association and selects individuals for NDTA scholarships awarded at the national level. Dr. Busch is the Co-Director of CNU’s Center for American Studies and the inaugural James and Cynthia Crawford Professor of US National Security Studies at Christopher Newport University.



Dr. Nathan Busch

Mr. Marty Groover, Partner and CTO at C5MI, was appointed Chair of the Technology Subcommittee under the NDTA Logistics and Distribution Committee, which serves as a catalyst to provide US Transportation Command (USTRANSCOM) and the Defense Logistics Agency (DLA) with ideas and information about commercial practices to improve the supply chain. Mr. Groover is an innovative leader in the supply chain industry with over two decades of experience as a US Navy surface warfare officer.

Administrative committees assist the NDTA president and board of directors in the management and oversight of the organization. The association’s six administrative committees are the Education & Professional Development, Finance & Audit, Foundation, Chapter Support & Membership Development, Industry, and Communications & Publications. Each committee is chaired by an industry volunteer who devotes time to ensuring the success of the association. Committee membership includes other volunteers from industry or government with an interest in education and the professional development of our industry and government members.

NDTA functional committees are chaired by a senior industry leader, supported by a senior government liaison, and operate under their own charters. NDTA’s six functional committees include the Military Airlift Advisory, Military Sealift, Surface Transportation, Military Distribution, Passenger Travel Services, and a newly refocused Cybersecurity Best Practices. Committees meet at least twice per year to address operational and policy issues of mutual interest, give the government a window into industry processes, and provide industry a voice in government policy development. Each is charged with examining and recommending solutions on critical government, military, and industry issues in their respective fields.



Dr. Nathan Busch
Share This